Search Engine Optimization is a decision that should be considered as a marketing expense. It can be difficult to calculate SEO ROI as costs and returns are not always as clear. However, with some rough figures, it is possible to estimate your SEO ROI.
Return Before you consider investing in SEO, think about the potential payoff. There is no incentive to invest if there isn’t much payoff. You can also calculate your potential return to determine how much SEO investment you should make.
You must first ask where your revenue streams will come from. Are you generating income from AdWords clicks? Are you selling a product online? Do you promote a service in order to gain new clients? Next, you will need to determine how much traffic your website is expected to get once it ranks in search engines. It is easy to estimate traffic for a search phrase using tools. Remember that most clicks for a search result go to the top three results.
The final step in the return calculation is to estimate the likelihood of customers following through. Adword clicks are where around 1-5% of people become customers after clicking on the ad. The number of customers who convert to customers when selling a product/service will depend on the industry and how well your site is selling the product.
Pay Per Click advertising can be one of the fastest ways to appear in search results. Because the initial investment is minimal, it’s a great place for beginners. You may be able get an idea of how effective your landing page and ad are by investing $100 in your account.
Unfortunately, PPC can be expensive over the long-term. This is not a good investment strategy. You can simply add funds to your account to purchase additional advertising. Paid advertisement has a lower click-through rate than organic listings. Users are less likely to trust paid advertisements because they can be bought by anyone. An AdWords budget of $20 per day would be reasonable. The keywords you target will determine how many clicks this would result in. If you budget for one year, it would cost just over $7,000 and $21,000 to plan for three years.
SEO Company Investment
An SEO company is definitely a more expensive investment in SEO. Any additional work done by an SEO company should improve your existing organic rankings. SEO firms charge for SEO work in a variety of ways. There are three main ways that SEO companies charge for their services: per hour, per project and per month. It is probably unrealistic to believe that you will only require an SEO company for the few month it takes to rank your search term. Your website will slowly be outranked by sites that are actively working to improve their SEO.
Usually, SEO companies can provide excellent optimization services. Although the results won’t be immediate as Pay Per Click, the return on investment once your website is ranked higher in search engines is much greater. Your SEO advertising budget will be the limiter, even if you have a great SEO company. It is likely that your website will be ranked higher in search results over time if you have more than a one-time fee. We’ll simplify the calculation by looking at the monthly SEO billing, which is set up to deliver long-term results. The $200 per month service fee is in the middle between the upper and lower end of the charges. This amounts to $2,400 per year and $7,200 after three years.
SEO Training Investment
If you are willing to put in the effort and time, investing in your own SEO education can be a smart decision. It is up to you how much you invest in SEO. You can rank higher by focusing your SEO efforts harder and smarter.
It will depend on the specific circumstances of your situation as to whether you have everyone attend a workshop or just a few. It doesn’t matter how you receive the training, but rather how you apply the concepts. You’ll begin to see the benefits of learning SEO concepts.